EPCOS 2016
will be held on 4-6 September 2016
at Trinity College,
Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK

EPCOS 2016

EPCOS is the European symposium on Phase-Change and Ovonic Sciences. The mission of EPCOS is to discuss the latest scientific and technology developments and their possible new application areas in an informal atmosphere to encourage interactions among participants and provide fruitful interactions between science and technology leaders of academia and industry.


Trinity College,
Trinity Street,

Registration can be booked at the University Online Store.

The Cultural Tour on Sunday 2-5pm is now full

Registration and Accommodation

The conference fee of £310 will cover the technical sessions on 5-6 Sept, coffee breaks, a welcome drinks reception on evening of 4 Sept, and the conference banquet on 5 Sept.

Final deadline has now passwd

Post-deadline registrations are possible, but there is no student discount, and no booking of college rooms.
For bookings made after 12 Aug 2016 the registration fee will not include the conference banquet

Registration can be booked at the University Online Store.


Attendees can use hotels such as
Doubletree by Hilton ****
Hilton Cambridge City Centre ****
Premium Inn ‘Cambridge City East’ **
Travelodge Newmarket Road
Best Western Gonville Place ***
Hotel Felix ***

4 Sept – Drinks Reception, dinner, optional city tour and/or punting
5-6 Sept - Technical sessions - invited, oral, posters
5 Sept – Conference banquet

Local Organizers:
Prof Stephen Elliott
Prof John Robertson
Prof Lindsay Greer

Applications and Optical devices
Phase change memory (PRAM)
Theory and Simulations
Structure and analysis
Thermal characterization
Electrical characterization
Neuromorphic computing

Committee members

EPCOS Committee
Chairman : Prof. Dr. Matthias Wuttig (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Vice-Chairman : Prof. Noboru Yamada (Kyoto University, Japan)

EPCOS Founding Member & Organization Adviser
Mr Walter Hofmann (Hofmann consulting, Switzerland)

Program Committee
Chair : Prof. Junji Tominaga (AIST, Japan)

Local Committee
Prof. Stephen Elliott (Cambridge Univ. UK)
Prof. John Robertson (Cambridge Univ. UK)
Prof Lindsay Greer (Cambridge Univ. UK)

Program Committee Members:
Dr. Dong-ho Ahn (Samsung Electronics, Korea),
Prof. Jaakko Akola (Tampere Univ., Finland),
Dr. Raffaella Calarco (PDI Berlin, Germany),
Prof. Byung-ki Cheong (KIST, Korea),
Prof. Stephen Elliott (Cambridge Univ. UK),
Prof. Daniele Ielmini (Milano Polytech. Italy),
Dr. Derchang Kau (Intel, USA)
Prof. Bart Kooi (Univ. Groningen, Netherlands),
Dr. Magali Putero (Aix-Marseille Univ.&CNRS, France),
Dr. Andrea Redaelli (Micron, Italy),
Prof. John Robertson (Cambridge Univ. UK),
Dr. Véronique Sousa (LETI, France),
Prof. Toshihiro Sugaya (UEC, Japan),
Dr. Norikatsu Takaura (Hitachi, Japan),
Prof. Din Ping Tsai (Taiwan Univ., Taiwan),
Prof. Tomas Wagner (Univ. Pardubice, Czech Rep.),
Prof. C. David Wright (Univ. Exeter, UK),
Prof. Rong Zhao (SUTD, Singapore)